Yep, like Bendigo, (pictured left in 1872) we’ve been around for a while! Take a moment to explore our rich history. Yes, we are rich – not because any of us found any gold – but because we have been blessed with spiritual riches bestowed upon us by the grace of our God in our Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ (Ephesians 1:3). Read on through the next pages to find out more…! And explore this link here if you’d like to read a first-hand account of gospel ministry in the Victorian goldfields (including Bendigo).
The story and men of our WWI Roll of Honor
Time for a true story! Read on…! When two of our church members were busy cleaning inside the church around mid-winter 2014, a man with a camera entered and asked if he could photograph our WWI Honor Roll. The reply that was given went something like this, ‘Sorry, but we have no WWI Honor Roll. […]
A timeline of our history
A brief outline of the history of Bendigo (St John’s) Presbyterian Church follows; 1854: Presbyterian worship commenced in Bendigo. 1859: St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church in Myers Street was opened (this is now St Andrew’s Uniting Church). 1860: The Eaglehawk Presbyterian Charge was established. 1872: Permission was granted for a second Presbyterian charge in […]
Our history: Four Presbyterian Churches named ‘St John’s’ in Bendigo!
Yep it’s true! Here’s a fuller account of our history that may explain how it happened and why….! Many of the first settlers in Bendigo were miners who had come to the goldfields in search of their fortune and escape the appalling working conditions in the Welsh mines, or those in Ireland or the cotton mills […]
Former Ministers of St John’s Presbyterian Church
The following is a list of Ministers who have served at St John’s Presbyterian Church, Bendigo; Rev. R. Lewers, 1873-1878 Rev. T. E. Ick, 1877-1884 (St. John’s Free Church) Rev. W. G. McDonald, 1878-1883 Rev. Talbot, 1883-1885 Rev. V. M. Riordan, 1885-1886 (Chalmers’ Church) Rev. J. H. Potter, 1886-1895 Rev. J. H. Mackay, 1896-1901 Rev. Jas. […]